Evenings in the Silent City (one of many new scenes)

This week I’m trying to finish the first draft entirely, so I can print and read it.
There’s a difference for me between reading on screen or on paper. Paper copies give me better overview, and it allows me to draw arrows and cross out sentences and words, which I like. I must be careful not to edit too much already though.
So in order to avoid that I’m only allowed to write new things for now.
I am going to kill Paul today. And it ain’t over till the fat lady dances. 
And in the mean time, here’s a scene to read….

 

In the streets of Mdina. THE FAT LADY sees SIRI right in front of OLIVER’S house, ready to ring the doorbell. SIRI notices THE FAT LADY.

SIRI
On your break?

THE FAT LADY
Finally, yes

Silence

THE FAT LADY
You have to go home

SIRI
He is just busy
I know that

THE FAT LADY
Oh, the beauty of imagination!
Some people have the capacity to believe anything
If they are just willing to

SIRI
We are fools, aren’t we?
For believing someone is something he’s not
That spark of insanity ignited by rare moments
that he does show his – Oh, who am I kidding?!

THE FAT LADY
Not me for sure

SIRI
Is it so foolish to believe people can change?

THE FAT LADY
Can you?

SIRI
I’m not sure
I would like not to need him

THE FAT LADY
We all need someone

SIRI
He has you

THE FAT LADY
He doesn’t
If he did he wouldn’t have had to hire me

SIRi
I need to go home

THE FAT LADY
Or – you can ring that doorbell

They stand there for a second. Then THE FAT LADY walks on into the night, leaving SIRI in doubt. In the end, she rings the doorbell. OLIVER opens the door. 

OLIVER
What are you doing here?

SIRI
Came to see if you –
Do you have wine?

OLIVER
You want to come in?

SIRI
Yes please

OLIVER
You sure?

SIRI
I’m trying some change

OLIVER
Change is good

SIRI
So they say

SIRI and OLIVER both go into the house. 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. What have I done!?! I should start from the beginning of your residency. There was no spoiler alert. :O I do not yet know who Paul is, but I stopped reading mid-post, to pay my respects. I am now on a mission; over this next week, I will begin again. I will make myself tea (which you have so often left me craving) and sip from the cup which you have so elegantly and consistently offered up. Can’t wait! What other posts, besides your residency are good starters for a new follower?

  2. Haha, I’m sorry for the spoiler. And thank you for paying Paul some respect! I haven’t put up the scene where he actually gets killed, to avoid spoiling too much of the play 🙂 If you fancy tea, I’d suggest you go for the residency posts first. There’s a lot about the process of writing and being here, and some scenes and fragments to read.

    If you like to read more about how I find my stories I’d suggest you’d read some of the earlier work (three houses on a hill and the search for Hilda) Although the last one isn’t finished yet.

    Enjoy and I’d love to hear what you thought about the residency 🙂
    One more week to go and I’m finished already, time flies!

Leave a Reply

